FMU's Phi Kappa Phi Chapter Inducts 28 New Members

Monday, April 16th, 2018

Francis Marion University’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, a nationwide honor society which recognizes superior academic achievement regardless of field of study, inducted 28 new members at its annual induction ceremony Thursday night in the McNair Auditorium on the FMU campus.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is one of the nation’s oldest honor societies.

Membership into Phi Kappa Phi can be obtained through invitation only and is restricted to the top 7.5 percent of second semester juniors and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students.

Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also might be eligible.

Twenty-six students were inducted Thursday. They were: Matthew Binchik, Kaylan E. Bouchette, Taylor E. Broach, Courtney S. Canipe, Salome J. Chavez, Jack S. Evans, Bridget N. Gainey, Georgia N. Garrison, Connor J. Graham, Sofia C. Henning, Madison G. Hewitt, Hannah J. Hooks, Presley A. Hucks, Gabriel C. Hutson, Shauna M. Johnson, Felicia M. Kirkland, Archange C. Kouamou, Anna J. Patton, Sterling W. Sadler, William H. Seals III, Kalin Smalls, Joshua D. Smith, Brittany Stuckey, Emily Wachter, Ann-Marie Wintrich and Yaping Yang.

Dr. Lorna Cintron-Gonzalez, assistant professor of Industrial Engineering, and Dr. Tracy George, assistant professor of nursing, were also inducted.